Gemina by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

Title: Gemina

Series: The Illuminae Files (Book 2)

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

Published: October 2016

Pages: 659

Genres: Young Adult/Sci-fi

Goodreads: 5 stars

Holy Guacamole! What a rollercoaster ride Gemina was! This book was amazing and beyond my wildest dreams! I felt like I got tricked so many times! The format continues to capture me and is so good to look at! What an intense book, I couldn’t put it down and it was unpredictable.

First off, Hanna Donnelly. Gosh, what an amazing heroine of the story! She’s smart, beautiful, is awesome at fighting and a fashionista! I could totally imagine all this in my mind as a movie! Hanna was so clever and strong throughout this book. I loved seeing what she would do next and it amazes me how capable she was of pulling this off! I was both amazed and in doubt at the same time!

Nik Malikov. This guy. If you loved Ezra in Illuminae, you’re going to love Nik even more! I loved the way Nik was written and misunderstood. His background is very interesting and I loved reading the interactions between him and Hanna. Such an unlikely couple until halfway through the book, you start to ship them so hard!

Ella Molikova was such an interesting character. For a 15 year old, she is brilliant and funny. I loved reading what she was doing to support our protagonists. And I won’t so much more.

And can we just talk about Marie Lu’s illustrations for a minute? I loved the addition to journal illustrations in the book, they were beautiful to look at and gave us a deeper insight to Hanna’s mind. I loved the ones that told a story and scribbled notes etc. Such a great addition to the book! I hope Lu continues to do illustrations for Illuminae 3!

Throughout this whole book, the story unfolded quickly and was intense the whole time. I really enjoyed the fast pace and I loved the how it wasn’t predictable. I feel that format was so distracting and good to look at that I didn’t even have time to think ahead! The concepts in the book was brilliant and as I don’t read much sic-fi it was delightful to come across the solutions to the continuous conflicts that arise. Gosh, it never ended! I loved when the characters of the first book intercepted with Nik and Hanna, and it was so good to finally find out what was happening on Heimdall. Seriously loved every moment in this book! Now for the long wait for Illuminae 3 and what happens right after. I highly recommend this book, even if your not a sic-fi person, it’s definitely something to read if you want to try something new. I know a lot of people have converted!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑