To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Title: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Author: Jenny Han

Series: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers

Pages: 368

Publication Date: 15 April 2014

Genre: Contemporary

Goodreads: 3 Stars

What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?

Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.

I listened to the audiobook version for To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before. I thought the plot sounded intriguing and that this book will really hook me and I would fall in love. However, as much as I wanted to know what was happening, I felt that I had issues with Josh, and how that intertwined with Lara-Jean.

I thought the fake boyfriend aspect was interesting, I gotta say, I love cliche things. It was interesting enough for me to find out what would happen. But, I didn’t love it enough to give it more ratings. I found Lara-Jean to be a bit annoying, and although her character can be relatable and real in the sense that she has really honest thoughts, I thought that it was a bit too young for me. I know it’s a young adult book, aimed at this age range, I’m actually a lot older than that, and it just didn’t fit with me. It had some cute aspects, but I didn’t love it as much as some of the other young love contemporary books I’ve read. Peter did grow on me, and Kitty was cute, I loved her personality!

Overall, I liked it so-so, but it was still a ‘page-turner’ since I wanted to know what happened. I think it best you be your own judge to this story! Especially if you find it intriguing.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑